Kirby College was originally established under the 1992 Further and Higher Education Act, and was then renamed Middlesbrough College in June 1995, following the merger of Kirby College and Acklam Sixth Form College.

 A further merger took place in August 2012, when Middlesbrough College and Teesside Tertiary College merged, with Middlesbrough College keeping its brand and name.
Middlesbrough College relocated in 2008 from its four former campuses (Acklam, Kirby, Marton & Longlands), to a brand new site in Middlehaven, close to Middlesbrough town centre.

Middlesbrough College is an Exempt Charity for the purposes of the Charities Act 1993 as amended by the Charities Act 2006 and 2011.

Find out more on the governance of the College